Plenary Speakers

Harry L. Anderson completed his PhD at the University of Cambridge UK in 1990 with Jeremy K. M. Sanders (thesis title: Model Enzymes Based on Porphyrins), followed by postdoctoral work at ETH Zurich, Switzerland, with François Diederich, on synthetic approaches to new carbon allotropes. He was appointed to a University Lectureship in Organic Chemistry at the University of Oxford in 1994, and promoted to Professor in 2004, and to Professorial Research Professor in 2013. His work includes the investigation of molecular wires based on metalloporphyrins, cyclodextrin polyrotaxanes, encapsulated pi-systems, template-directed synthesis, multivalent cooperativity, nanorings, polyynes, cyclocarbons, molecular electronics, nonlinear optical chromophores and functional dyes.

Prof. Chi-Ming Che [H-index: 124] obtained his Ph.D. from The University of Hong Kong in 1982. After his study with Prof. Harry B. Gray at The California Institute of Technology during 1980 to 1983, he joined the Department of Chemistry of The University of Hong Kong and is presently the Zhou Guangzhao Professor in Natural Sciences. Prof. Che is an Academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (1995), International Member (Foreign Associate) of the US National Academy of Sciences (2013) and Fellow of the World Academy of Sciences. His honors include the First Class Prize of the State Natural Science Award of China (2006), Centenary Prize of Royal Society of Chemistry (2013), Davison Lectureship at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2013), The Huang Yao-Zeng Organometallic Chemistry Award of the Chinese Chemical Society – Lifetime Achievement Award (2016), Ryoji Noyori ACES Award (2016), Peiyang Lecture at Tianjin University (2018), “Tsinghua Xuetang” Lecture at Tsinghua University (2019), and Master Distinguished Lecture at Shanghai Jiao Tong University (2019).

Paul Chirik, the Edwards S. Sanford Professor of Chemistry, has broad interests on chemical reactions with reduced carbon footprint, reliance on earth abundant rather than precious elements and new bond disconnections that reduce waste and separations. A native of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, he obtained his B. S. in chemistry at Virginia Tech. Chirik earned his Ph. D. at Caltech under the supervision of John Bercaw and following a brief postdoctoral appointment at MIT, began his independent career at Cornell in 2001 and was named Peter J. W. Debye Professor in 2009. In 2011, Chirik and his research group moved to Princeton University. His teaching and research have been recognized with the Linus Pauling Medal, the Gabor Somorjai Award for Creative Work in Catalysis, an ACS Cope Scholar Award, the Blavatnik Award, a Packard Fellowship, NSF CAREER Award and 2016 Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Organometallics and is the author of over 225 peer reviewed publications and inventor on more than 15 patent applications.

Stefanie Dehnen received her diploma in 1993 and her doctoral degree in 1996 from the University of Karlsruhe (now KIT). After a postdoctoral stay in theoretical chemistry (1997), she completed her habilitation in inorganic chemistry in 2004. Since 2006, she has been a full professor of inorganic chemistry at the Philipps University of Marburg. She is a full member of the European Academy of Sciences (EurASc), the Leopoldina – German National Academy of Sciences, the Göttingen Academy of Sciences, and the Mainz Academy of Sciences and Literature. In addition, her work has been recognized with numerous awards, including the 2020 Alfred Stock Memorial Prize of the German Chemical Society (GDCh). She is currently Chair of the Inorganic Chemistry Division of the GDCh, a member of the Molecular Chemistry Review Board of the German Research Foundation (DFG), and Associate Editor of Inorganic Chemistry (ACS). Her current research focus is the synthesis and experimental as well as quantum chemical investigation of compounds with multinary, in particular multimetallic, molecular nanoarchitectures that have potential as innovative catalysts, white light emitters or battery materials.

Kim R. Dunbar is a Distinguished Professor of Chemistry of Texas A&M University. Her research in synthetic and structural inorganic chemistry is focused on the application of coordination chemistry principles to the solution of diverse problems ranging from new types of magnetic and conducting materials and the elucidation of anion-pi interactions to metal anticancer agents. Major professional honors include The ACS Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry, The Fred Basolo Medal for Outstanding Research in Inorganic Chemistry, an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship, a Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, and Fellowships in the American Association for the Advancement of Science, The American Chemical Society, and the American Institute of Chemists. She has served her profession as past Associate Editor of Inorganic Chemistry and Secretary and Chair of the American Chemical Society’s Division of Inorganic Chemistry. She is the author of over 430 research publications and 16 book chapters or reviews.

Claudio Luchinat is full Professor of Chemistry at the University of Florence, Director of CERM (Center of Magnetic Resonance) and of CIRMMP (Interuniversity Consortium on Magnetic Resonance of MetalloProteins). His research interests include development of NMR-based structural methodologies, electron and nuclear relaxation, NMR of paramagnetic species, relaxometry, bioinorganic chemistry and, more recently, metabolomics.

His Scholar h-index is 79, and his papers have been quoted more than 25.000 times.

He has held seminars in many prestigious universities and research institutions worldwide, and plenary lectures in International Workshops, Symposia and Conferences. He has been awarded the 1989 gold medal Raffaello Nasini, the 1994 Premio Federchimica “For an Intelligent Future”, the 1996 European Medal for Biological Inorganic Chemistry by SBIC, the 2001 GDRM gold medal, and recently the Premio Sapio 2017 and the prestigious Richard R. Ernst Prize in Magnetic Resonance (2018).